Lent starts this Wednesday 5 March. It is a day of Fasting and Abstinence from meat. On all other Fridays, except solemnities, the law of the common practice is fulfilled by performing any one of the following:

  • Prayer, for example, Mass attendance, family prayer, a visit to a church or chapel, reading the Bible, making the Stations of the Cross, praying the Rosary, or in other ways
  • Self Denial, for example, not eating meat, not eating sweets or dessert, giving up entertainment to spend time with the family, limiting food and drink so as to give to the poor of one’s own country or elsewhere; Project Compassion is a major means of expressing our self denial in Australia
  •  Helping others, for example, special attention to someone who is poor, sick, elderly, lonely or over-burdened.

All who are over 18 and have not begun their 60th year are bound to fast. All who are over 14 are bound to abstain (Canon 1252)
The Season of Lent is a time of penance. During this season the faithful are exhorted to devote themselves in a special manner to prayer, to engage in works of piety and charity and to deny themselves. Each of the faithful is obliged to receive Holy Communion at least once per year. Lent is a most appropriate time to receive the Sacrament of Reconciliation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: